Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
#16864995 01/21/22
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
Mrs Blacktailer's Kimber SuperAmerica has never shot up to my expectations of consistent MOA accuracy. The best it has ever done is about 2MOA with a variety of bullets and powders. I have been tinkering with it for more than 15 years and am pretty well convinced that it needs a new barrel.
I have been through the Montana Tinkering, have rebedded it and switched scopes and mounts to no avail. While 2 MOA is adequate for her hunting needs, being a rifle loonie it bugs me that I can't get it to shoot better.
So first off, I am asking for bullet recommendations in the 130gr range to try. So far I have tried 130, 150, and 165 TSX and TTSX, 130 Speer and 130 Hammers. I'm thinking of maybe Accubonds next. BTW it has a very long throat and bullets can't come anywhere near the lands and still fit in the magazine.
If that doesn't get it done who makes Kimber contour barrels and if I go that route maybe make it a 260Rem or 7-08? I would like to keep the bullets on the light side because of recoil.

I am continually astounded at how quickly people make up their minds on little evidence or none at all.
Jack O'Connor
BP-B6

M
Campfire 'Bwana
Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
M
Lilja does Kimber contours.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I've used Lilja on all my Kimbers that I've rebarreled and they've been great shooters.

Not doubting you have went through everything, but I haven't been around one that wouldn't do MOA or better with the factory barrel. A couple have been picky about loads though.

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
Holster Feelers and Start At The Fhuqking Start. Hint.

1) Sounds 308 Winny-ish,but pinpoint same. Hint
2) What scopes/bases have been used? Hint.
3) Next time give the fore base fastener ALL of your fhuqking attention,as you've undoubtedly dead headed fasteners into the barrel shank. Hint.