Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
K
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
K
I'm new to surf fishing, having only done it once this past March and I loved it! I'm going to add 2 surf rods for which I already have spinning reels (Penn Fierce 5000). I'm looking at these Berrypro rods and I've never heard of the company. Can anyone speak to their quality? I'm also considering Okuma Longevity or CS-S rods. Anybody have recommendations?

Thanks,
kstockfo

GB2

K
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
K
Or maybe I should ask, what would you recommend for under $100 for a 10' 2piece medium-heavy Spinning surf rod for a beginner. As stated before, I already bought 2 Penn Fierce reels (5000 series) that I got on clearance at Walmart.
Thanks,
kstockfo

S
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
S
What are you fishing for and where? Are you casting a lure or are you bottom fishing?

I cast a 2 1/2 or 3 oz. lures for Blues, Strippers, and Bonito on Cape Cod. I use 11' and 12' rods with 20 lbs. test. The best rods that I have are Cabelas rods, but I don't see them available anymore. I bought an 11' Cabelas Salt Striker a couple of years ago that I love. I also have an old Penn that has real good action. Most of my rods cost about $120.00 to $150.00 each for somewhat of a gauge.

I don't know anything about the brands that you mentioned, but you might want to look at these.

https://www.cabelas.com/shop/en/offshore-angler-power-stick-surf-spinning-rod-100828890

https://www.sportsmans.com/fishing-...wJF_dv5skG5zOYwbc_43GdLKyfkaAofXEALw_wcB

"Government is not the solution to our problem, government is the problem."
Ronald Reagan
K
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
K