Hop To
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
M
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
M
A little update...

I couldn't stand it so I went ahead and took some sandpaper to it and opened up the channel quite a bit this weekend. If I grab the end of the stock I can still make it touch the barrel but with significantly more force then previously. The results were mixed but I think progress is being made.

The first three-shot 100 yard group had two within an inch and a wide left flier. Group size was well over 2".....CRAP

[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]

I let the rifle cool and sent another three. These were just over 1/2"....Nice

I let the rifle cool and sent another three. First two were in the same hole, the third out. Still under 1.25"....Not bad

I let the rifle cool and sent another three. First two were ok but the third went wild, similar to the first group...CRAP

I studied the targets for a bit then decided to plot all the first round impacts from each group. Then the second. Then the third. Here is the results.

First round impacts from all 4 groups

Second round impacts from all 4 groups

Third round impacts from all 4 Groups

It looks to me like if I did nothing else I would have a very consistent 2 shot rifle. Unfortunately leaving well enough alone is not in the cards so I think the next move is to take a little more material out to make sure I have zero contact when the barrel and stock are flexing.

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Swap the scope out with one that has a proven track record and see what you get. Easy check off.

Faith and love of others knows no mileage nor bounds. That's simply the way it is.
dogzapper

After the game is over, the king and the pawn go into the same box.
Italian Proverb

M
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
M
Originally Posted by Sakoluvr
Swap the scope out with one that has a proven track record and see what you get. Easy check off.

This one is one of the "proven" ones smile

M
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
M