24hourcampfire.com
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
I recall when that or bamboo were the only choices, and good bamboo was out of my range back then.
I saw in the Other threads, some o you are still using them. Just curious how many.
I’ve been using graphite rods since the 1980s, but last year had a hankering to put a glass rod in my collection.
I built a 7.5’ 4 weight on a North Fork Composites blank for tight places. I think they’re better for some things like roll casting. This thing is a lot of fun. The new glass technology & engineering is ahead of my old heavy rods from the 60s & 70s..

[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]

Last edited by brayhaven; 07/08/22.

Greg
"An abundance of information can exacerbate ignorance if the information is of poor quality" Tom Robbins
http://classicsportingguns.com/
GB2

S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
I’m far from an expert but I like glass rods, modern ones are very good and will do anything a graphite rod will do in most circumstances. If your fishing nymphs with weight and bobbers graphite seems to be a better choice to me.
Older ones are can be too slow but fun to fish if you slow down your casting stoke somewhat.
I have a couple of 7’ 4wt rods, one Fenwick from the 70’s and an 11 year old custom Graywolf that is also 7’ and 4wt. I use the Graywolf more. It is a hoot on a panfish lake, makes small fish feel like whoppers.😁
Oh yea, they can be cheaper too.

Bluegills and the Graywolf a couple of weeks ago.

Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
I like the grip on that rod. I like a thicker grip and often put a wells type on the rods I build.

Greg
"An abundance of information can exacerbate ignorance if the information is of poor quality" Tom Robbins
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
I think the new redington butter stick is calling my name. Has a cool retro look to it.

Think i need a bigger gun
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member