Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
EFW,
One of my go to pike rods is a St Croix Triumph 7' medium action casting rod. I like it.
M/H would be good for heavy baits. I choose my rod weights by the size of the bait I throw.
95% of the time I am throwing a 3/8oz spinner bait or a large spoon that weight 7/8 of n ounce or less.
For large plugs or bucktails the M/H would be a better choice than the Medium

Originally Posted by Judman
PS, if you think Trump is “good” you’re way stupider than I thought! Haha

Sorry, trump is a no tax payin pile of shiit.
GB1

T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T
I posted a similar question earlier this spring and the brain trust here steered me toward the Shimano Calcuta 201DC. I used it on a northern Ontario fishing trip in June, and while I didn't tie into anything over 30", it handled it well. I'm still no expert at the baitcasting game, for me I guess part of the skill is in untangling birdsnests. laugh

Charter Member
Ancient order of the 1895 Winchester

"It's an insecure and petite man who demands all others like what he likes and dislike what he dislikes."
szihn

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by tmitch
I posted a similar question earlier this spring and the brain trust here steered me toward the Shimano Calcuta 201DC. I used it on a northern Ontario fishing trip in June, and while I didn't tie into anything over 30", it handled it well. I'm still no expert at the baitcasting game, for me I guess part of the skill is in untangling birdsnests. laugh

Your Calcutta has a centrifugal braking system, the magnetic brakes are much more forgiving for a novice.

T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T