Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
W
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
W
I'm looking to make do my first stock inletting and checkering job this fall. I'll be purchasing a shaped blank with no inletting for a Ruger M77 MKII in .35 Whelen and then going from there. I kind of like the looks of cross bolts and I wouldn't mind having some extra protection against stock splitting or breakage. I've thought about threading the ID of a piece of 3/8" .120 wall steel tubing to 1/4-20 and epoxy bedding it into the stock and then screwing in low profile head screws on either side of the stock.

I also thought about just drilling a 1/2" hole from side to side and epoxying an ebony dowel in place. I think that would look nice and work just as good, but I have no experience with this, so I'd love to hear anyone's thoughts about both ideas.

On the same vein of stock reinforcement, I recently saw a video of Larry Potterfield of Midway USA installing a piece of all thread into the wrist area of a stock for added strength. The all thread was bedded in epoxy. Does anyone do this or think it is a worthwhile practice?

GB1

G
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
G
I always figure a crossbolt might just as well look like a crossbolt but there are some qualifications. The purpose is to prevent the stock from splitting rather than to transfer recoil forces to the wood, so placement is important. A crossbolt between the magazine cutout and the trigger group is beneficial.
As far as the threaded rod through the grip is concerned, if the flow of the grain through the grip is wrong, reinforcement can help. If the grain flows well, it doesn't make a big difference. GD

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
The Talley cross bolts I've installed have turned out very nice...look like factory Model 70's. They come in the white.

Hope this helps. -Al

Forbidden Zoner
W
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
W