Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
R
rufous Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
R
I am looking to buy my 4th home. The last home I bought was in 2016 and I sold it in April of 2021. I have been renting since then. Mortgage rates have gone up a bunch since 2016 when I got my last mortgage. I need to get a pre approval letter from a lender but am not sure how best to proceed. I am not an expert in obtaining mortgages but basically hope to find a lender with low fees and low rates. As I remember it, some lenders have lower fees and lower interest rates than others.

I have enough cash from the sale of home number 3 to put anywhere from about 50 to 80% down on the next home.

I have a checking account with US Bank with what will be our down payment in that account and it seems their fees are reasonable but I have not done much shopping around yet.

Anyway, I wonder if some of you might offer some advice or tips on how best to secure the best mortgage. Thanks!

GB1

M
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
M
Anyone who buys a house right now and absolutely doesn't HAVE to, if a fućking idiot.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Find a good broker, shop rates and fees .... Rocket Morgage is the big boy. If you're a Vet you have lots of options.

If you were in SC I'd put you on my broker who has handled a lot of investment buys for us in recent years, he's the best here but .... there is always one independent broker in every state that works hard for his clients and has a good rep with various lending companies.

If you can find a good money man right now, a private investor ... ask your lawyer, they always know people looking to invest at lower rates of return, especially now with the market jittery and in disarray.

Home prices are dropping, you may want-to wait until the recession is in full tilt ... lock in a rate now and shop just until it expires, then buy it down a quarter or half point since you are flush with cash.