Print Thread
Hop To
B
bbassi Offline OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
B
I'm brand new to casting and powder coating. I actually shot my first boolits today. It looks very promising but I have a question. Is it normal with powder coated bullets to get a white "smoke" similar to shooting BP? I loaded some 35 Rem with 36 and 37 grains of H4895. I've never seen this with any other load using that powder. shocked

They say everything happens for a reason.
For me that reason is usually because I've made some bad decisions that I need to pay for.
GB1

P
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
P
I have been coating for about 3 years now.

Using Smokes powder from the castboolits site and sometimes it happens.

I have shot 45-70,308,300 sav.,7x57,300BO and the 38-55 and after lubing them the old way i will take powder coat every time.

It really makes a difference with pistol bullets because lube does make a lot.

What type of powder do you use?

B
bbassi Offline OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
B
This is flame red from Smoke. Sized to 358 with a gas check. The accuracy so far is astounding to me. sub 1" @ 50 with open sights. I just don't want to booger up the rifle doing something wrong. It's all so new to me.

They say everything happens for a reason.
For me that reason is usually because I've made some bad decisions that I need to pay for.
P
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
P
They seem to shoot better groups to me and they are easier to clean.

So far have not had a hint of leading in any of the rifles.

In the 357/38spl rifles they are real good i like to load the 158 semi wadcutter.

Even made up some sub sonic for the Brother in laws new rifle with he had fitted with a suppressor and he loves those loads.

I just run a wet patch maybe a brush then clean patches till dry and have not seen any fouling.

I shot some blackpowder loads in my 45-70 and that rifle looked like it was never shot.

I like it.

M
Campfire Outfitter