Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
C
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
C
We have been searching for months for our next dog and keep coming back to a Griff or another Lab. I have a lot of experience hunting over both American and English labs and know "ballpark" what I may be getting into with either of these.

A Griffon, not so much, very rare in my area and hard to come by first hand experience. I have been to tons of websites and breeder sites but still would like to hear how they differ from a Lab around the house, and In the field, from those who have had both.

I am looking for info on Field Bred "American Lab" vs Wirehaired Griffon in terms of trainability, daily exercise requirements, etc. My wife is very nervous that a Griff would be even more high strung than a field bred lab.

Thanks for any help you guys can provide

GB1

P
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
P
i would rather have a medium size lab , good house dog , protective and most are a dang good companion and hunter. the only problem with a good dog they grow old to fast

LIFE NRA , we vote Red up here, Norseman
W
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
W
I have a hard time believing that a Griffon would be more high strung than a field bred American Labrador. Ours is one jacked up and enthusiastic dude.

B
Campfire Member
Online Content
Campfire Member
B
I have to say pick a Griff. Very protective and a hell of a hunter. I've had mine over 6 years- they have a different personality than my lab. Kona tends to be headstrong but really sticks on a scent trail. Smartest dog and the quickest. My Lab is a great dog, but the Griff is much more versitile. And after being raised with a cat, will still chase it(headstrong-did I mention that!!)

Last edited by brassman; 11/28/22.
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
I’ve hunted over both quite a bit.

As far as high strung, most labs are way more wound up than the average griff.
I love labs, but they are like retards on meth. Lol.