Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
A
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
A
So for Christmas my wife and kids decided to get me a Buck 113 Skinner with S30V steel. It's on it's way to me. I'm not sure what makes someone an expert at sharpening knives, but I'm sure that person is not me. I already have the Smith's Tri-Hone kit, a couple of pocket diamond rods and an old German-made honing steel that belonged to my dad when he was a butcher - maybe in the 50's??

Any insight on what might work well for the S30V blade at home and in the field? As I mentioned, I'm sure I'm not an expert at sharpening knives, but I'm the type to really not let my hunting and EDC knives get that dull to start with. I wonder if maybe even constant touch-ups with a leather strop might be the way to go, providing there's a good one that would fit in my hunting pack.

Thanks in advance, and a happy New Year to all!!

BP-B2

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Im not the best at sharpening.

So i try to touch up a blade before its too dull.

I use ceramic sticks and strops.

I made a couple strops out of horsebutt leather.

Dave

�The man who complains about the way the ball bounces is likely to be the one who dropped it.� Lou Holtz

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
S30V has a reputation for being harder to sharpen. The best you can probably do is a diamond based sharpener, either a good sized flat stone, or maybe one of the oval diamond "steels". The diamond steel has a learning curve to it in that you have to work harder at keeping the same angle. The Vanadium is tough stuff to sharpen even in cheap kitchen knives, or maybe more so in them. Maybe the best thing to do is buy both and practice a lot on your kitchen knives until you get to be quick at it.

W
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
W