-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
I've been toying around with a 50 year-old M99 in .300Savage. I didn't check the headspace before firing it like I should have, and had some primers back out on federal factory loads, and winchester cases were well over max length after one firing, so I wonder if I should have. I have gauges on order and will check headdspace before proceeding.<P>But because I wonder about the size of this chamber, and because I am new to handloading, I was wondering how much case expansion I should expect. Unfired federal factory loads are around .465 just ahead of the casehead, but I didn't measure any after the first firing. After full-length resizing and reloading them and firing again, they are .469. Max diameter in the manuals is .471. Is it normal for factory ammo to be so small? Is it normal for this area of the case to expand by .004 in diameter upon firing? Also, is full-length resizing supposed to bring them back down several thousandths under SAAMI? -al

GB1

Campfire Member
Campfire Member