Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
A
Campfire Regular
OP Online Content
Campfire Regular
A
We're taking a family trip to the Charleston, SC area the first week in May. What is surf fishing like just north of Charleston on Sullivans/Isle of Palms? Are there other nearby areas that might be better? I would really like to catch some Pompano but would not turn up my nose at snapper blues and red drum, or even whiting. Best baits? Terminal tackle?

I have both light and medium heavy surf rods and am filling out the reel collection to match. I plan on purchasing terminal tackle down there if I cannot find suitable components here in MI/internet.

I have not been surf casting since going with my grandfather near Vero Beach, FL when I was a sophomore in college. Any information would be appreciated.

Bill

GB1

Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
Best bet would be to stop by one of the tackle shops and talk to the people about what's biting and what you need to catch them. Lots of things moving that time of year . You should be good for pompano, small blues flounder mullet and other pan fish in the surf and the inlet. Half day offshore could be an option also

there is no man more free than he who has nothing left to lose --unknown--
" If it bleeds we can kill it" Conan The Barbarian
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker