Print Thread
Hop To
J
JoeBob Offline OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
J
A 1911 was my first centerfire pistol more than 30 years ago. I’ve been shooting them a long time. But strangely by the time I actually started carrying a pistol, I went to other things. I’ve carried small revolvers and various compact and subcompact automatics. Well, lately on a whim I started playing with a full sized Kimber 1911 I hadn’t messed with in a long time. And on a lark I started carrying it.

Holy schit! I find the 1911 to be the best carrying pistol I’ve ever used. Even a full sized one just melts into your body. That ultra thin slide is just made for slipping IWB or even under a belt. It’s really really comfortable. And frankly, I’ve never felt all that good about carrying one in the chamber on a Glock or something like that but with a grip safety and a regular safety I have no concerns with the 1911.

Anyway, it feels weird to just now be realizing this since I have and shot 1911s for so long, but it is what it is. Make fun if you like.

Last edited by JoeBob; 02/04/23.
GB1

F
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
F
Over 30 years of pretty much only carrying a 1911. A quality IWB holster and belt will allow you to almost forget the gun is on your hip. The weight is something you’ll notice less and less. My Kramer IWB#2 is at least 30 years old now and still works just fine. It’s becoming more soft, especially the tab that keeps the thumb safety out of my fat roll. I have a new replacement ordered and should get shipped anytime. 12-14 week delivery but worth it.

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
A lightweight Commander is easier to carry than a Glock 19 or M&P 2.0 Compact. I don't much like packing a full size 5" steel frame 1911.

Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin slitting throats.
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by MOGC