Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
F
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
F
I know, it's been beat to death, but help me out here. Whenever the subject arises, it's Barnes this and Barnes that, an occasional mention of Hammers. But the red headed stepchild seems to be Hornady, people just, don't talk about them, either the GMX's or the never seen CX's. If on that rare occasion somebody mentions Hornady, you don't hear anything about burning lots of components finding the magic seating depth or jump...what's the story?

Well this is a fine pickle we're in, should'a listened to Joe McCarthy and George Orwell I guess.
GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
I have limited experience with the GMX, mostly because in the handful of rifles I’ve tried it in group sizes just didn’t show much promise compared to the Barnes equivalent, so Barnes got the call.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I have shot Barnes almost exclusively for about 30 years. The only time I tried GMX or CX was when a particular load would not shoot to my standard which is MOA consistently for a hunting rifle or less on specific applications (LR or varmint). In those cases the Hornadys didn't markedly improve the situation and it turned out the bullet was not the problem it was something else. While I have not run the Hornadys head to head with Barnes my impression is the same as Jordan's, they didn't shoot quite as accurately as the Barnes which have given excellent results IMHO.
There is just a whole lot more experience with Barnes since they have been around for so long although with their changes in ownership, who knows what will happen.

I am continually astounded at how quickly people make up their minds on little evidence or none at all.
Jack O'Connor
R
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
R