Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
R
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
R
I've been shooting a Mathews switchback xt since about 2007. Haven't shot or hunted it much for a few years. I always liked it a lot. I'm curious if bows have improved much over that time. A guy at work said I'd be surprised how much smoother they are now. What day y'all? Thanks.

BP-B2

D
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
D
Newer bows are smoother drawing, quieter, and vibrate less in your hand. I don’t see much improvement on an annual basis, but the improvements are cumulative. So in a few years, one can see noticeable improvements.
That’s my opinion.

NRA Patron
L
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
L
I asked the same question last fall and got similar answers...year to tear not much difference but 10+ years makes a noticable difference. I hunt with a 20 year old mathews and it will still kill deer if I do my part-not sure I need $1000 bow to replace it wink

but when is any of this about NEED

B
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B
I started out in the late 60's with a recurve, went to a compound in the 80's. At 72 I now shoot a Ravin. They all work, just depends on how much you put into it. Shot this one with my Ravin, last fall.[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
I don’t know how much farther they can advance in technology, but the difference between your Switchback and the latest offering by Mathews bows, is outstanding. If you tried the new Phase 4, you would be amazed. It is so much better than your Switchback, you will notice it immediately.

I bought the Monster “Chill” when it first came out in 2014 and still use it today. It is still a vast improvement over your Switchback. I haven’t seen the need for me to go to the newest bow, my Chill still gets what I need done quite well.

Even if you started looking at used bows that are newer than your Switchback, you will be able to find a better bow that you will be happy with..