Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Jeffpg Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I'm a safety manager for a turnaround group and we have a work project that will run all of April and half of May this year, so I volunteered to go. I am blessed to have traveled a good chunk of the planet but I have never been to Alaska. I know there's a lot of experience here so I'm seeking advise on how to make the most of my time there. While the project is running, I'll put in 13 hours a day, 7 days a week, so there will be no playtime to speak of. Once the job ends however, my time is mine to do as I wish for pretty much as long as I want.

For starters, I am thinking that my best bet is to fly into Anchorage and rent my vehicle that I will use for the duration of my time there and then drive into Kenai. I will need lodging for 2 in Kenai for a month and a half, as my fiancé will accompany me on the trip. Any suggestions in this area are welcome.

I am told that the fishing and sightseeing on the Kenai peninsula are outstanding. I'm looking forward to this trip, which I feel will likely lead to another. I'd love to make a hunt there.

Thanks in advance for your input.
Jeff

..."I will not tip toe through life, to meet death safely."
GB1

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
Your timing is perfect for a spring black bear hunt. Get with Ironbender as soon as possible... he always has beer...

eulachon (hooligan) will be running. Always good for a laugh and one meal a year. Kenai is far less muddy than dipping them in 20 Mile.

Reliably, on May 10 the birches will have leaf buds. Some years they have them a week earlier. Makes a difference because leaves will make it a lot harder to spot bears. All tags are OTC at the last minute.

Mark Begich, Joaquin Jackson, and Heller resistance... Three huge reasons to worry about the NRA.
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker