-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Regular
OP Online Content
Campfire Regular
Sorry to ask a stupid question, but has your self appointed God restored everyone's bank accounts after the protests?

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
deltakid;
Top of the morning to you sir, I hope that you're all getting spring in eastern Washington like we finally are here in the south Okanagan.

With the understanding that I'm an expert on exactly nothing, here's some of what's been reported.

The government - and yes it was PM Shiny Pony who pushed it, but it would not have been possible without the NDP leader Jimmy Dhaliwal and BQ leader Yves Blanchet going along with it - included provisions to seize bank accounts in the invocation of the Emergencies Act.

It is not clear to me that the account seizure provision was there previously by the way.

Many of the Canadian Charter Banks then seemed a little too eager to comply and it appears some might have even jumped the line to do that. Now they'd have to have been given lists by someone - RCMP we're looking at you here - in order to do that. At very least they were working with the RCMP in order to do that.

It doesn't seem like any of the regional credit unions went along with the madness. If I'm wrong about that, I'd like to know please - anyone???

The scuttlebutt seems to be that when this happened, many, many calls were made by major investors from the US and other areas suggesting to the feds that they were not cool with the precedent being set and were seriously thinking about taking their money out of Canadian projects. Our Finance Minister/Deputy PM/WEF board member Chrystia Freeland attempted to joke about receiving calls about it. If she did, you can bet others in the Fed Finance department were called.