Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 17 1 2 3 4 5 6 16 17
V
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
V
I have not seen a TC Encore centerfire that would shoot MOA with factory or hand loads yet, I tried three Myself (all different calibers on two different frames) before giving up and I've seen at least four more of My buddies rigs and all were marginal at best in the accuracy department, but TC is paying out the bucks to these hunting celebs, I see a bunch of Encore rifles being used on the Hunting Channel but those guy's don't care what they use just who will pay them the most to use their product, I guess that's why TC Encores are a little pricey in My book especially for what you get.. I have zero experience with the Icon bolt action rifle it May be a different story and be a great shooter. I do know to My eyes they are an ugly beast..................547.

Last edited by 547; 12/21/08.
BP-B6

A
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
A
I don't know about "dislike",but its a rifle that has no appeal to me personally..I settled on thee 98 Mauser custom and the pre 64 Win. a long time ago and have seen no reason to change...I am avid about using a control rifle and that's based on 60 plus years of observation and use of both CFR and pushfeeds. Won't argue the point as everyone has the option to choose their own rifles and this is a good thing.

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
I forgot to mention that last year, I bought a Vanguard in .300WSM for an Oryx hunt here. Got my Oryx - one shot at over 450 yards.

Anyway, my younger son drew an elk tag so I traded a pistol for an A-Bolt Composite Stalker with BOSS in .300WSM for him. Shooting them side by side at the range, the A-Bolt is stunningly accurate and the BOSS works GREAT in reducing recoil, allowing longer practice sessions, etc.