Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
W
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
W
I will be the first to say I am not a wood expert but I found this at the Tulsa gun show today, it looked like a nice piece of wood, it was getting late and according to what I have seen blanks priced at, seemed like a good buy. Not to mention, the longer I fondled it, the cheaper it was getting. grin

According to the seller, his Dad owned it since 1986 and it was much older than that.

Hopefully I will get some positive feedback and I didn't get hurt to bad.

These are the markings on the blank.

[img][IMG]http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d17/Sweet16Owner/Tulsa%20gunshow/tulsagunshowpurchases018.jpg[/img][/img]

I think the spelling below is Teyssier. The stamp is very weak on the RH side

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

GB1

Campfire 'Bwana
Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
black walnut?

God bless Texas-----------------------
Old 300
I will remain what i am until the day I die- A HUNTER......Sitting Bull
Its not how you pick the booger..
but where you put it !!
Roger V Hunter
B
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B
It appears to be a nice piece of French walnut (Juglans regia). The color and figure are quite nice. Congratulations.

G
GF1 Offline
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
G
+1 French

Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
It dones say French on the blank....grin

Looks beautiful...I'm not a wood expert by any means but IIRC a heavy kicking rifle needs pretty straight grain in the thin grip area. Yours looks like it still has lots of figure there...

May not be a issue at all, but I'd suggest asking someone about it that does know wood.

Please don't feed the trolls!
IC B2

W
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
W
Originally Posted by Bandukwallah
It appears to be a nice piece of French walnut (Juglans regia). The color and figure are quite nice. Congratulations.