Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#3204298 - 08/04/09 can't move crosshairs on new scope  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 53
aceman Offline
Member
aceman  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 53
Calgary, Alberta
I finally bought my new bushnell legend 3-9X scope after
researching the competition, and for the money it's much
brighter and clearer than the cheap simmons blazer.
However, I'm having trouble with adjustments, as I went to
the range last week and fired 3-165gr btsp @ 100 yds which
hit slightly higher and to the left of my desired 3" high.
I then moved the windage and elevation clicks as needed to
bring my POI to 3" high, then fired again, but the shots hit
exactly back to the first spot. Tried to adjust again to the
right and down slightly, but hit the same place again?!
The good news is that my groups were under 1" as these
factory hornady's have always done in my savage, but the damn
crosshairs won't move, and I can't believe that this scope
could possibly be faulty? Bushnell doesn't seem to have a
solution without inspecting the unit, and I've never had a
scope not adjust properly in 30 years whether it was $50 or
$500. Ironically, though the blazer scope wasn't great
quality, it was 100% with keeping and adjusting POI!

Any ideas or quirky suggestions with this particular model?

Earl.

CMG 300 BP

#3205230 - 08/04/09 Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: aceman]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,515
Popapi Offline
Campfire Guide
Popapi  Offline
Campfire Guide

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,515
Oklahoma City Ok
Send it back.

#3205333 - 08/04/09 Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: Popapi]  
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,883
GF1 Offline
Campfire Guide
GF1  Offline
Campfire Guide

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,883
Send it back, get a refund, buy a 4x Leupold and never look back.

#3206023 - 08/04/09 Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: aceman]  
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,514
mtmisfit Offline
Campfire Ranger
mtmisfit  Offline
Campfire Ranger

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,514
Helena, MT
will they move the other way? maybe you've used up all the adjustment available in the tube.

#3206657 - 08/05/09 Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: mtmisfit]  
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 14,840
dogcatcher223 Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
dogcatcher223  Offline
Campfire 'Bwana

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 14,840
Kolorado
Hold a little mirror up tight against the objective lense, and look through the scope. You should see two sets of crosshairs. When a scope is adjusted back to zero, you will see only one set, as they are right on top of each other. Look through the scope and adjust the windage and elevation controls and see if the reticle moves or not. If it doesn't move, then the scope is junk.

Or, if you have a grid type boresighter, you can adjust it and see if it moves. I just don't like to stick anything in the muzzle of my rifles, so I don't use them.


From a place you will not see, comes a sound you will not hear.
Alpha

#3208109 - 08/05/09 Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: dogcatcher223]  
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 53
aceman Offline
Member
aceman  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 53
Calgary, Alberta
Thanks guys for the input, but I found the problem with why
the crosshairs wouldn't move. The windage and elevation
adjustments have 2 tiny screws that were not tightened so the
clicks were not crisp and audible, and basically weren't grabbing the internal gears to move. Just tightened them down
and the clicks are working now.

Aceman.

#3208535 - 08/06/09 Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: dogcatcher223]  
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 13,436
DMB Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
DMB  Offline
Campfire 'Bwana

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 13,436
Grayling, MI
Originally Posted by dogcatcher223
Hold a little mirror up tight against the objective lense, and look through the scope. You should see two sets of crosshairs. When a scope is adjusted back to zero, you will see only one set, as they are right on top of each other. Look through the scope and adjust the windage and elevation controls and see if the reticle moves or not. If it doesn't move, then the scope is junk.

Or, if you have a grid type boresighter, you can adjust it and see if it moves. I just don't like to stick anything in the muzzle of my rifles, so I don't use them.


Good point..


Don Buckbee

JPFO
NRA Benefactor Member
NSSA Life Member






#3212452 - 08/07/09 Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: DMB]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,028
kenjs1 Offline
Campfire Tracker
kenjs1  Offline
Campfire Tracker

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,028
Texas
thanks dogcatcher - that ID good info. OP'er glad you got it figured out. I spend a little more on scopes but have to say I have never run into a scope from Bushnell that was pure junk. Inespensive- YES, but not crap like some others. Good job.


When a country is well governed, poverty and a mean condition are something to be ashamed of. When a country is ill governed, riches and honors are something to be ashamed of
. Confucius
#3212803 - 08/07/09 Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: kenjs1]  
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 14,840
dogcatcher223 Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
dogcatcher223  Offline
Campfire 'Bwana

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 14,840
Kolorado
Using the mirror trick is cool because it is also an easy way to get a scope back to Zero prior to putting it on a different gun. Beats counting clicks...


From a place you will not see, comes a sound you will not hear.
#3212869 - 08/07/09 Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: dogcatcher223]  
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,559
Middlefork_Miner Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Middlefork_Miner  Offline
Campfire 'Bwana

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,559
Sonora
Unless you have OCD...

Bravo


Moderated by  RickBin, SYSOP 

AIH 180
AIH 160 1
Who's Online Now
70 registered members (Adamjp, 79S, 257_X_50, 805, blixen, 7 invisible), 469 guests, and 352 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod









Copyright © 2000-2018 24hourcampfire.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.070s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9388 MB (Peak: 1.1393 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-11-23 09:13:21 UTC