Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
L
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
L
We're going to make our garden a little larger this year and put in another at the FIL's old farm across the river. I have an older but nice Troy-Bilt Kohler-powered rear tine that cuts 22". It certainly is less work than any front-tine model, but I'm thinking about picking up a used 16-20 horse hydrostat garden tractor with a 36" rear-mounted PTO-driven tiller.
I've never used a tractor-driven one before, but my bad back is only going to get worse, and to top things off, I was just diagnosed with emphysema frown .
Do these tractor mounted tillers work well? Please chime in if you have any experience with them. I'd like to continue to have a garden in the future, but would like to make it easy on myself given the health problems.
Jim

GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Cant help you with the tiller question. The only ones I've used are a 17" troy-bilt and big ones that go on 50+ hp tractors.

Sorry to hear about the health problem.

Prayers sent your way.

Old Turd- Deplorable- Unrepentant Murderer- Domestic Violent Extremist

Just "Campfire Riffraff and Trash"

This will be my last post! Flave 1/3/21
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
My dad's neighbor has one with a tractor and tiller in about the same size range as yours. It works very well keeping a couple of good sized garden plots tilled up. Both plots have been in use for several years, and were already plowed up before the tiller was used.

You can use the tiller to break new ground, but it takes time and patience. Especially if you have hard clay soil like we have around here. Just don't try to take too big of a bite at a time.

=====================
Boots were made for walking
Winds were blowing change
Boys fall in the jungle
As I Came of Age

B
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B
I've been using the same 10hp Simplicity tractor w/tiller for 30 years (Rebuilt twice).