Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#402 06/10/01
shrike Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I have hunted with rifles for the last 35 years. Am ready to move on to new challenges.<BR>Should I by first an "entry level bow", learn with it to become a real good shot, and then later by a "serious bow" or should I buy right away a top level bow and learn to shoot it and be done with it?

GB1

#403 06/11/01
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
i am relatively new to bowhunting (this will be my 3rd season), so keep that in mind.<P>my girlfriend bought me an entry-level bow to try out, see if i liked it. i took that bow to the local archery shop to have it set-up and show me the hows and whys of bow operation. the owners spent a ton of time teching me the ropes, and some of the finer points of shooting a bow.<P>the entry-level bow let me find out firsthand if i would take to bows or not, and did it cheap. this is the route that i would reccomend to you. if you enjoy the sport, then you can easily move up to a better bow. if you don't like it, then you are out, what, $150 minus whatever you sell your tackle for. not really a big deal.<P>if you start w/ a real nice bow, and don't like it, you are out a lot more than that.<P>the thing that is nice about an entry level bow is it will really help show you what you would like in your "big" bow. eg: i learned that i wanted wood grips (the syn. grips got awfully cold in december), shorter bow (not too short though...), and as light as i thought my bow was, i learned that a lighter bow would be in order.<P>bowhunting is very different than gun hunting, and is very challenging, but i believe it is at least as fun, maybe more so.<P>------------------<BR>Hunting is not a matter of life or death. It is much more important than that.

Hunting is not a matter of life or death. It is much more important than that.
#404 06/14/01
M
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
M