Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
O
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
O
California deer zones - any zone suggestions?

I have 5 preference points this year and am trying to decide which zone to apply for?

Other hunters I know with four points and above got the zones they wanted in last years drawings. Last year I had a Texas deer hunt lined up and just went for the additional point. With funds tighter this year I am planning a 10 day in state camping\hunting trip but living in Ventura County I have little knowledge of which X zones I should go for. I will plan one long weekend pre hunt camping trip to check out which ever zone I get.

Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated since it will be another four years or so before this opportunity comes around again and want to make the most of it!

Thanks

Ted
GB1

U
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
U
X3B or the late Doyle Muzzloader.

CrossHair Consulting
www.crosshairconsulting.com
406-439-8512
M
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M
I'll be hunting in Zones D3-D5. I wouldn't recommend them even to JeffO though...the cats have really taken a toll. I didn't even see a doe last year & very minimal sign. It's a damn shame.
We do have some good mountain quail populations & plenty of grey squirrels, which always make the trip enjoyable. I'll mostly be going up to see if I can't luck into a bear while sitting in my favorite saddle...[Linked Image]
This is a pic of the previous years buck...[Linked Image]

Last edited by Middlefork_Miner; 05/20/10.
T
Campfire Regular
Online Content
Campfire Regular
T
If your after the pie in the sky, I'd apply for either the G-3 Goodale Buck Hunt or G-39 Round Valley Late Season Buck Hunt. You might be a bit light on points for those 2 hunts as the G-3 hunt has 35 tags and the G-39 only has 5 tags alloted. 5 points should easily get you X-9A the area around Mammoth Lakes or X12 around Bridgeport. You might be able to pull off either X-5B or X-7B with 5 points.