Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
Guys - Thanks for the H4831SC tip! Haven't tried that one for 'cold' rifle yet.

Sam Olson - Can you tell what cartridges you tested at 400 please?

GB1

D
DMB Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
D
JB,

Thanks for the good info.
We use H-4831SC exclusively in 7mm Magnums with no problems in cold weather in the UP.
As a test engineer, I could not accept warming a bullet, then stuffing it in a chamber at zero degrees F and expect valid results, or visa versa.

Don Buckbee

JPFO
NRA Benefactor Member
NSSA Life Member

M
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
M
Thanks for the UP info. Never can have enough data!

Warming/cooling ammo only has always sounded like a weird way to do it. It would especially be suspect when testing primers, because a primer would start warming or cooling the instant it touches the bolt face. I mean, how thick is a primer cup?

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck
H
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
H
OP

for those cartridges I would get some RL17 and some H4831 and never look back.

T
Tejano Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
T
Good info. The last sentence in the second study sums it up, "it raises more questions than answers". Looks like most of the previous data is suspect.

Where I am concerned is those 100 deg. days where the ammo might get as hot as 120 in the sun or trunk of a car. I try to keep it in a lunch cooler under those conditions. I don't do much cold weather hunting these days but when temps are in the teens I keep extra ammo in my inner pockets closer to my body and switch it out every hour or so. Probably doesn't accomplish much.

Makes me wonder about those red line 270 WSM loads including the factory ones.