Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
selmer Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
Okay, so as part of my preparation to move to Montevideo, MN in 10 days, I'm doing some license/regulations research on hunting, specifically deer hunting. What a convoluted bunch of regulations and licenses!!! And from what I can find, this is the simplified version??? Okay, enough whining, onto questions. I'm in the slug/handgun zone. I'll figure out the licensing thing, but what I really want to know is info on handgun regs, and I can't find that. I've been killing deer in Iowa with my Encore for 8 years now with either a .454 Casull or .357 Maximum. Iowa has a restriction that handgun cartridges MUST be straight-walled (not bottle-necked) cartridges. I can't find anything like this in the Minnesota regulations. All I can find is a minimum caliber requirement (.220") and that it is center-fire ammunition. So, can I use my Encore and get a .260 Rem barrel or .308 barrel for my Encore and go hunting? Please let me know, if so, I'll be ordering a custom 16 1/4" barrel with brake for pistol deer hunting and legal carbine fun where I can use a rifle. Thanks for the help, I hope you can shed some light on this subject!
Selmer

Selmer

"Daddy, can you sometime maybe please go shoot a water buffalo so we can have that for supper? Please? And can I come along? Does it taste like deer?"
- my 3-year old daughter smile
GB1

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
Selmer A legal handgun (22 caliber centerfire or larger) may be used in the shotgun zone as can any M/L rifle (scoped or not) during the shotgun deer season. The same weapons may be used in the rifle zone during the rifle season, or during any special season in the rifle zone. M/L rifles used during the M/L season (late November to mid December) may not be scoped. CF rifles may not be used in the shotgun zone during the shotgun deer season. Handgun cartridges in a long gun must be used in the rifle zone only.