-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
after that experience, the 338 has only been to the range and in a gun sleeve as a second gun. I have gone back to the basic 06 that does just as well if not better with less punishment for me.

Interestingly the partition on that bull is the only bullet I have ever recovered from a game animal.

No fear, no doubt, all in, balls out.

"America"
GB1

B
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
B
colo wolf: Interesting that you retired the 338.Just too heavy to lug around? Great cartridge.......

The 280 Remington is overbore.

The 7 Rem Mag is over bore.
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Colo Wolf -

I have no doubt your experience with the InterLocks has been good � that would mirror the results many people have had with them and other cup-and-core bullets. One difference between your experience and mine is the muzzle and hence the range of potential impact velocities � while you limit yourself to loads running around 2850fps, my bolt gun loads run 2900fps to 3300fps. (My .308 Win is an exception � in it I use the same 165g North Fork and 168g TTSX bullets I use in my .30-06 rifles, but at a mild 2700fps.)

Note that I don�t claim so-called �premium� bullets will provide better or different results than cup-and-core bullets. On the contrary, I have often mentioned my experience with 160g Barnes XLC bullets and an unfortunate buck antelope, an incident where any cup-and-core bullet would have probably done much better � including HP or polymer-tipped target bullets or even varmint bullets. That experience left a very bad taste in my mouth for �X� type bullets, including bullets of similar (monolithic) front-end design like the E-Tip and FailSafe. When the TSX bullets came out I tested them in several rifles but could never bring myself to use them in the field, especially when I started seeing claims and photographic evidence of their failure to expand.