Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
RickBin Offline OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
I have a real nice M70 .300 WinMag Super Grade that is destined for some kind of change. It has a real nice stock that many of you have seen in a prior post.
<br>
<br>ANYWAY ... this dang rifle is too heavy to lug around in the black timber while elk hunting, and I've decided to build a pair of matching WSM's, a .300 or .338 (haven't decided which yet) and .257 WSM, leaving me with a spare hot 30.
<br>
<br>I'm pretty new at the big bores, but find them fascinating. It seems to me from my reading that the .458 WinMag is about all I can get from this M70 action, but I've also read that tis caliber has trouble reaching the listed 2200 fps.
<br>
<br>Can anyone shed any light on this caliber for me? How much work am I looking at to convert the .300 Winny into a .458 Winny? Is this caliber redundant with my .375 H&H, or am I getting into a caliber that offers a significant step up in kaboom? What else to do with that .300 if not this?
<br>
<br>Rick

"What we obtain too cheap, we esteem too lightly: it is dearness only that gives every thing its value. Heaven knows how to put a proper price upon its goods; and it would be strange indeed if so celestial an article as freedom should not be highly rated." Thomas Paine
GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Rick, the 458 would fit just fine in the 300 action, just replace the barrel and you're on your way to bruised shoulders! [Linked Image]
<br>Many posters on other boards have maligned the 458 for less than ideal performance, mostly on dangerous game. Velocities are usually not as advertised, is the usual complaint. I doubt you would get a complaint from an American elk or ground squirrel, though.