Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
B
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
B
I recently acquired a .308 Rem Police sniper rifle with a 4-14x56 Government Model II sniper scope. I plan on using it for black bear, deer, and maybe elk this fall. Using a good quality range finder, I would like to try to kill a bear at around 500yds, a deer at 600 yds, and maybe an elk at 400-450 yds.

Since the scope is calibrated to the Federal 168 grain match cartridge, what would you guys recommend for a hunting bullet that would exhibit identical ballistics, but better performance on game as the 168gr HPBT?

Experienced opinions only please. Thanks.

BTW I have killed several elk, one bear, and dozens of mule deer (not to mention 2 cape buffalo and an elephant with 110 lb of ivory) so I am not a novice hunter.

GB1

S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
For someone so skilled as to have taken "dozens" of big game including Dumbo, I find it hard to believe you need schooling on an appropriate bullet. Oh, I almost forgot "only experienced opinions please".

J
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
J
I have killed several deer and antelope with my .308 Win in the last few years and I just used the 175 Sierra MatchKing in Federal GMM. I wouldn't hesitate to use this same load on a black bear. If I were going to kill BIG hogs or elk with this round, the 168 gr TSX would probably be my go-to bullet.
[Linked Image]
This is my brother and his buck killed at 330 yds with my .308.
[Linked Image]
This is my buck killed with the same rifle at 525 yds.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
The 165 Scirroco shoots to same POI as the Gameking in my 308 if that tells you anything.The Scirroco beats anything I've used as for as consistent performance at different impact velocities,but I confess to not having shot any of the game you mentioned atthe ranges you anticipate.I got other stuff that works better for that.

Never holler whoa or look back in a tight place
B
Campfire Member