-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
OP Offline
S
I'm brand new at loading black powder cartridges. In my first foray I discovered that the grease grooves in my bullets won't hold enough SPG Lube to keep the powder foulong soft.
I've read that a beeswax wad is needed to keep the "grease cookie" from contaminating the powder so I bought some beeswax, melted it in a double boiler and poured it into a thin layer in a cookie sheet. Trouble is, it stuck to the cookie sheet.
So how does one get the beeswax into a thin sheet to make wads? I'm trying pouring it onto wax paper on the cookie sheet, that seems to work but is somewhat of a pain.
Any better ideas?
How big a glob of lube do I put between the beeswax wad and the card wad?
Thanks.

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Pete, what caliber and bullet? Grease cookies are normally useful in a very narrow range of cases and situations. Mostly the long cases 45-90, 100 and 110 and almost exclusively with paper patch bullets.

SS

No words of mine can hope to convey to you the ringing joy and hope embodied in that spontaneous yell: �The Americans are coming; at last they are coming!�

I hadn�t the heart to disillusion them.

John "Pondoro" Taylor
Africa 1955
P
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
P
Pete,