Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
D
Dogger Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
D
anyone getting good wildlife pics with a four-thirds camera, or a large sensor compact? I don't want an SLR -- too much weight... but want to be able to take wildlife shots of opportunity when they present themselves... finding the right camera based on specs is killing me... am currently considering the Olympus PEN E-PL1/2/3 or the Nikon P100 superzoom... thanks for your thoughts...

GB1

B
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B
I am far from a photography expert...but if you really want to take wildlife photos, you will eventaully end up with a DSLR.

I have a Oly E-520. I LOVE the Oly 50-200mm lens. Its light, small, fast and very sharp. The 2x crop factor makes this a nice, light, travel ready combo for wildlife, which is why I bought it. Nonetheless, I am considering switching to the C or N brands for better high ISO performance. I think you would find the same thing given some time behind the camera.

D
Dogger Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
D
Thanks, my son has the E-520 as well.... great camera but just too big for my purposes...

Last edited by Dogger; 12/04/11. Reason: spelling
pal Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Fuji's X10 is worth a look:

http://www.fujifilm.com/products/digital_cameras/x/fujifilm_x10/

Compact, analog controls, 2/3 sensor, image stabilized, fast aspherical ED glass.

If you really want to be thrilled look at their X100:

http://www.fujifilm.com/products/digital_cameras/x/finepix_x100/

Last edited by pal; 12/04/11.

"There's more to optics than meets the eye."--anon

"...most of us would be better off losing half a pound around the waist than half a pound on our rifle."--dhg

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by pal
Fuji's X10 is worth a look:

http://www.fujifilm.com/products/digital_cameras/x/fujifilm_x10/

Compact, analog controls, 2/3 sensor, image stabilized, fast aspherical ED glass.