Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
G
gwl Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
G
I have been packing in for deer for a couple years now and have not made up my mind what works best. I have used a frame pack to get to camp then used a day pack from there. I have also used a regular pack to pack in then used it to hunt with as well. I like to be able to pack meat out on the first trip back to camp so a small day pack or fanny pack is not for me. What do most of you guys do? From a spike or main back country camp do you hunt with your main pack, a fanny pack, or a day pack?

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
What's a "regular" pack?

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
So long as my main hunting pack compresses down fine when empty I use that to hunt out of once I am hunting out of my spike camp I packed in. Really don't have a use for a pack that can't haul my day hunt gear and meat.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by alaska_lanche
So long as my main hunting pack compresses down fine when empty I use that to hunt out of once I am hunting out of my spike camp I packed in. Really don't have a use for a pack that can't haul my day hunt gear and meat.

Agreed. The only time I switch over, is if I'm on a backpack hunt while bowhunting for mulies or Coues whitetails. In terms of rifle hunting, I always use an external frame pack for everything, no matter where I'm at in North America.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Agreed +2.

Member of the Merry Band of turdlike People.

IC B2

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by gwl