Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
D
djs Offline OP
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
D
I've always disdained the Russian Mosin Nagant rifles. They are plain ugly, awkward, cruedd and just not attractive (to say the least). I've been collecting WW2 era rifles for the past 10+ years and always turned my back on Mosins, I met a friend several months ago who shoots Mosin's in competition and I joined him, I've bought 2 Mosins and in dis-assembling them for cleaning, I've found a new respect.

They are well made, and very practical for their intended purpose. For a peasant army (think 1890's Russia), they are virtually indestructible, easy to dis-assemble for cleaning and fool proof to re-assemble. As for accuracy, I can easily keep all my shots on a man sized target at 300+ yards.

My only regret is that I did not discover them 20 years ago when they were less expensive. I've got a number of German, Yugo, Swiss, Austrian, etc. WW2 rifles, and I'm glad to add these to my collection.

What are your WW2 rifle experiences?

Last edited by djs; 03/17/12.
GB1

C
Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
C
Like you, I find the Mosin Nagant's to be ugly, awkward, crude and unattractive. I agree that they were just what Dr. Zhivago ordered for the russian peasant army.

The Finnish M-39 is a much better built rifle, while still Mosinesque, and as accurate as all get out.

I am a fan of the 8x57 cartridge and the K98k Mauser, but if I were to be zapped back in time and had to hump a bolt action rifle in WWII, I'd be hoping to end up with a No.4 Mk1 Enfield. With a 10 shot magazine capacity and a properly mounted Peep sight, I'd much rather work with that, than a Mauser, Mosin or Arisaka.

"The number one problem with America is, a whole lot of people need shot, and nobody is shooting them."
-Master Chief Hershel Davis

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker