Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
hardway Online Content OP
Campfire Regular
OP Online Content
Campfire Regular
Maybe some of you whitetail hunters can help me.... I've been hunting the same high elevation wilderness area for quite a few years. For the last few years we would get a light snow or rain in october that would make tracking easy, each year I have cut a fresh (hours old) monster track and followed it. Same exact trail, leads down a big finger ridge through a couple of saddles. Anyways this buck has a scrape in a patch of timber on top of the ridge that he freshens up and then moves down the canyon into some heavy bedding cover.... I've always lost the track or deemed it pointless beyond this point. I have some nice trailcam pics of a huge buck and I'm sure its him but have no idea how to get on him. I think he moves late at night.... hopefully early in the morning. Best I can think is to put a tree stand on the scrape and hope he comes by during shooting light?

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
The best Mulie hunter I know (14 30"+ heads) hunts alone. Goes into the back country, sets up a cold camp and will spend up to a week glassing a trophy buck once he has located it. Once he has patterned it, then he starts hunting.
It's a lot of effort, why he hunts alone. The key is being where the deer will be before he is. That may be a travel route, feeding area or bedding area. Our season in WY is before the rut (because rutting Mulies are not very bright).
The usual cautions about wind, noise and reflections apply 10X with a trophy Mulie.

Good luck !

Hey NSAQAM, Larry is very "IN", LOL
You also dishonor the 28th division by using the unit patch as an insult.
As for the liar, welcher Bricktop, his day is fast approaching.
Coward trolls won't accept PMs.
How's the phantom "campfire" coming ?
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter