Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
S

Thought to toss this topic out there .....

Are Polychokes any good?

Or Truglo's much more elegant-looking hand-adjustable choke?

Does either work well at all?

Anyone here who would use them? Recommend them?

THANKS!

GB1

W
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
W
Poly Chokes are well thought of over on Shotgun World as far as their performance is concerned. Of course, not everybody likes their aesthetics. I had one on a 16 ga. M12 years ago and it worked well. I never formally patterned it but it definitely opened and closed the pattern. I now have one of the new versions that screws into a 20 ga. Rem 1100 barrel instead of a choke tube and it also works well for the rabbit hunting I do. Since I move from close to open cover, it's nice to be able to adjust the choke quickly and it is easily removable.

I have no experience with the TruGlo.

Last edited by wildhobbybobby; 05/17/12.

Life is like a purple antelope on a field of tuna fish...
M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
If god wanted a potato on the end of your barrel he'd never have let you see a good looking shotgun. There's just no excuse for those abominations, and certainly there are at least some decency standards that ought to prevent even the discussion of them in places like this.

W
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
W
Like I said, not everybody likes their aesthetics. laugh

Last edited by wildhobbybobby; 05/17/12.

Life is like a purple antelope on a field of tuna fish...
N
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
N
Back in the day ie. before the advent of internal choke tubes, they were much more popular than they are today. We had them installed on a couple of guns when I was a kid. IME, what that "dial" says on the choke, is not what appears on the pattern board, except in very general terms.

IMHO, they dont work as advertised, put the weight in the wrong place on the gun, and look like he**, to boot!

NB

NRA Life Member