Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
hbc01 Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
I have been using a long stabilizer on my Mathews DXT for the last 4 years. I have to take it on and off every time to put the bow back in the case. It would be nice to put on a short fat stabilizer on and keep it on at all times so I don't strip our the hole. The bow is dead on for hunting, I want to know how much the change will help or hurt my shooting?

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
I don't even use a stab on my hunting bow but I don't shoot bows that are 30" ATA either. They have quick release knuckles for stabs you can use, some bows have them built in like Martins.

Otto is my co-pilot.
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I use an 11.5" Octane, and transport my bow in a soft case, then just zip the case up to the stabilizer and let a few inches poke out the top. I use a Primos soft bow case most often, if you're wondering, but I also have a Blacks Creek. Never damaged a bow with either case, and don't have to remove anything.

A Veteran is someone who at one point in their life wrote a blank check made payable to The United States of America, for an amount up to, and including their life.

The King of Battle!

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
You know, I use a Spot Hogg, sight and I always used a stabilizer longer than the sight so it doesn't hit the ground when I lower the bow down from my stand. I never gave it any more thought than that. I go slow and I'm careful, but I know it's got to help protect the sight.

"I didn't get the sophisticated gene in this family. I started the sophisticated gene in this family." Willie Robertson
A
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
A
Anything over 8 to10 inches on a hunting bow is probably over-kill. I like the X-factor stabilizers for vibration kill over anything else.