Hop To
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4
S
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
S
Originally Posted by bearhuntr
You know, if you tried breaking down your term of "superior" into realtime values, you jest might come across the answer yourself? I'm just saying - it's not rocket science...

bhtr
Do you think im asking for the hell of it? Like i already know the answer and im just testing everyone else? Or do you think i shot and i am an expert on every caliber made??? Well im not nor claim to come close. I am asking for knowledge from everyone thats interested in what they have come across and what there most accurate guidance is for the questions i asked.

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
This is just my opinion on the subject so take it for what you paid for it. If it were me and the wifey I'd give her the 243 and you the 7mm08 loaded with Barnes ttsx in 140 gr. you already have what you need to get the sheep hunting done. The youth stock on your 08 is eas y to change to a full length stock that may fit you better. I would then take the money you were gonna spend on the sheep rifle to get a 300 win mag which would more than cover you for whatever else you want to hunt in the state. But that's just my opinion

I Kill Things......deal with it..
L
las Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
L
Perfect sheep rifle - OK - maybe a .270 short mag.... Or better yet, a .264 short mag. Does anyone make one?

I killed my first ram at @50 feet with a .243. Seemed just about perfect at the time..... smile Also worked on the second one a year later at @100 yds, within a quarter mile of the first one.

The only true cost of having a dog is its death.

K
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
K
Hunting by yourself or with some one else? I want a light kicking light rifle for shooting extreme angles. If by myself a LW 06 is fine for bear issues. .270 on up would be fine in my opinion no need for a hard kicking heavy rifle with another hunter along.

kk alaska