Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#7026699 - 10/31/12 can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another?  
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 14
salasj Offline
Member
salasj  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 14
Question I picked up my new Rifle that is a Ruger M-77 264 Winchester Magnum 26" Shilen barrel 1-9 twist. Can I fire the loads I developed in my other 264 in this one. I chamber the loads and they feed smooth. Do I have to start low and work up again to see how they do in this rifle?

CMG 300 BP

#7027229 - 10/31/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: salasj]  
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,826
Pharmseller Offline
Campfire Guide
Pharmseller  Offline
Campfire Guide

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,826
Willamette Valley, Oregon
How close to max are your other loads? If you are pushing it I'd back off with a new rifle.

When in doubt, start low.

P



Obey lawful commands. Problem solved.

Member #547
#7027381 - 10/31/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: Pharmseller]  
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,794
stillbeeman Offline
Campfire Guide
stillbeeman  Offline
Campfire Guide

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,794
middle Tenn
Strong new rifle from a reputable maker, I'd bang away assuming your loads are within the parameters of your load books. Don't expect it to be the same in the accuracy department but then you never can tell til you try.


Aim for the exit hole.
#7030649 - 11/01/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: salasj]  
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 15,893
efw Online content
Campfire Kahuna
efw  Online Content
Campfire Kahuna

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 15,893
Mi.
Originally Posted by salasj
Do I have to start low and work up again to see how they do in this rifle?


Yeah I would if I were you.

Also... if you neck size only you might not be able to chamber the cases in the old rifle after being fired in the new... MIGHT not...

can't tell anything till you try, but yeah I would definitely work up.


Don't you ever wonder why
In spite of all that's wrong here
There's still so much that goes so right
And beauty abounds?

The thunder rolls and the baby sighs
And the rain comes down
Don't you wanta thank someone for this?
-Andrew Peterson
#7030675 - 11/01/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: efw]  
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 19,543
the_shootist Offline
Campfire Kahuna
the_shootist  Offline
Campfire Kahuna

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 19,543
NW Ontario, Canada
It is NEVER wrong to start low and build a load. Absolutely NEVER!


"Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life." (Prov 4:23)

Brother Keith

Alpha

#7032002 - 11/02/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: the_shootist]  
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,722
17ACKLEYBEE Offline
Campfire Kahuna
17ACKLEYBEE  Offline
Campfire Kahuna

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,722
A wash in the west.
Originally Posted by the_shootist
It is NEVER wrong to start low and build a load. Absolutely NEVER!


That advise is as good as it gets.


NRA Lifetime Member
#7032889 - 11/02/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: 17ACKLEYBEE]  
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 42,715
Mule Deer Offline
Campfire Oracle
Mule Deer  Offline
Campfire Oracle

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 42,715
Banana Belt, Montana
I shoot handloads developed for one rifle in other rifles all the time. Then again, I never try to get the absolute last 50 or 100 fps velocity supposedly possible by judging "pressure signs." Instead I pretty much stick to published data, or of that's lacking a velocity that fits in the parameters of published data.

The few exceptions are when published data are pretty wimpy, as with .257 Roberts non-+P loads. One of my favorite loads in the .257 is the 115-grain Nosler Partition or Ballistic Tip and 45.0 grains of H4350. This is two grains over Hodgdon's non-+P data but I've yet to see it produce the slightest sign of excessive pressure in several rifles. Muzzle velocity is usually about 2900 fps, depending on barrel length.

A couple years ago I was doing an article on pump-action rifles, and one of the rifles was a Remington 760 .270. I had a pile of leftover handloads on the shelf from other .270 projects so decided to fire them in the 760. The powder charges were mostly listed maximums, or close to it, from various manuals or websites. The cases of only one load even slightly stuck after being fired--and I suspect the problkem there wasn't excessive pressure but cases that had been fired several times and lost their spring.


John

"Gunwriters, as you know, aren't as informed as their readers are and if it wasn't for the readers, there would be no need for writers..."--Shrapnel, May 2015
#7033054 - 11/02/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: salasj]  
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 10,076
temmi Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
temmi  Offline
Campfire 'Bwana

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 10,076
Texas
Originally Posted by salasj
Question I picked up my new Rifle that is a Ruger M-77 264 Winchester Magnum 26" Shilen barrel 1-9 twist. Can I fire the loads I developed in my other 264 in this one. I chamber the loads and they feed smooth. Do I have to start low and work up again to see how they do in this rifle?


It depends on how Standard/SAMMI you load.

If you vary your COL to load close to the lands... then just don't do it.

Best thing is to load for the rifle... That is what I do

Snake


That which does not kill us makes us stronger

Friedrich Nietzsche
#7033276 - 11/02/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: Mule Deer]  
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,722
17ACKLEYBEE Offline
Campfire Kahuna
17ACKLEYBEE  Offline
Campfire Kahuna

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,722
A wash in the west.
Originally Posted by Mule Deer
I shoot handloads developed for one rifle in other rifles all the time. Then again, I never try to get the absolute last 50 or 100 fps velocity supposedly possible by judging "pressure signs." Instead I pretty much stick to published data, or of that's lacking a velocity that fits in the parameters of published data.

The few exceptions are when published data are pretty wimpy, as with .257 Roberts non-+P loads. One of my favorite loads in the .257 is the 115-grain Nosler Partition or Ballistic Tip and 45.0 grains of H4350. This is two grains over Hodgdon's non-+P data but I've yet to see it produce the slightest sign of excessive pressure in several rifles. Muzzle velocity is usually about 2900 fps, depending on barrel length.

A couple years ago I was doing an article on pump-action rifles, and one of the rifles was a Remington 760 .270. I had a pile of leftover handloads on the shelf from other .270 projects so decided to fire them in the 760. The powder charges were mostly listed maximums, or close to it, from various manuals or websites. The cases of only one load even slightly stuck after being fired--and I suspect the problkem there wasn't excessive pressure but cases that had been fired several times and lost their spring.


Well your bad reloading practices aren't going to affect mine.


NRA Lifetime Member
#7035336 - 11/02/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: 17ACKLEYBEE]  
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,794
stillbeeman Offline
Campfire Guide
stillbeeman  Offline
Campfire Guide

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,794
middle Tenn
Let's see here, we get all chicken little over cartridges that have known components and are being shot in a modern, strong bolt rifle but will go into wally world, pull a box off of the shelf and shoot it without a thought.
When you buy a new box of powder, do you send a sample off to be tested so's you can be sure it is indeed 4350? Can't be too careful you know.


















Aim for the exit hole.
Bravo

#7037435 - 11/03/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: stillbeeman]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 2,709
downwindtracker2 Offline
Campfire Guide
downwindtracker2  Offline
Campfire Guide

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 2,709
B.C.
I think a 264 might be a special case,they are a wee bit touchy about loads.I've had a couple of barrels on mine,the loads I'm running now would easily remove the primer when fired in the first barrel.In second barrel they are ho hum. If it was a 30-06 ,I would say shoot them.


You can hunt longer with wind at your back
#7064840 - 11/11/12 Re: can you shoot reloads from one rifle in another? [Re: salasj]  
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 874
8mmwapiti Offline
Campfire Regular
8mmwapiti  Offline
Campfire Regular

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 874
Stanwood WA/ Saint Maries ID
Originally Posted by salasj
Question I picked up my new Rifle that is a Ruger M-77 264 Winchester Magnum 26" Shilen barrel 1-9 twist. Can I fire the loads I developed in my other 264 in this one. I chamber the loads and they feed smooth. Do I have to start low and work up again to see how they do in this rifle?



Some 264 Win mags had 1 in 10 twist barrels. That will lower the pressure. What does your fist 264 have? Load 2 rounds at 3 grains less, 2 at 2 less and 2 at 1 less. 6 round to make sure, not a lot of time and effort.

8mmwapiti



Moderated by  RickBin, SYSOP 

AIH 180
AIH 160 1
AIH 160 3
Who's Online Now
636 registered members (117LBS, 10gaugemag, 1234, 12344mag, 01Foreman400, 68 invisible), 1,898 guests, and 632 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod









Copyright © 2000-2018 24hourcampfire.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.084s Queries: 14 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9586 MB (Peak: 1.1770 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-11-25 01:41:41 UTC