24hourcampfire.com
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
hey guys i new here and im a bit confused . ive been reloading for about 5 years now and i have 2 7 mags ive been playing with . ive been shooting 140 gr sierra game kings and speer 145 gr boat tails mostly with imr 4350 and fed 215s . im shooting 64 grains and these loads shoot awesome , pretty much one hole at 100yds . i was looking up data last night and wonder why there is so much load data difference and speed difference from book to book . for example nosler shows 65 gr max with imr4350 and another book says 60 gr max . and the speeds will be 2930 in one book and 3280 in noslers book . so i guess my question is what is the best way to find the max load in a rifle when you run across this problem . would it be better to use a chronogragh to try and get to the speeds shown in books or what ? ive never chronoed any of these loads but as far as i can tell there is no signs of extreme pressure in either gun . the primers look good , ive loaded most of the cases 4 or 5 times already , and the bolt is easy to open . any suggestions are appreciated .

HR IC

B
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
B
Shawn: Review a bunch of data from various sources,as many as possible and note correlations between charge weights and velocities...understand that your rifles may differ from the barrels used to aquire the data you are reviewing,and often by a substantial margin.This is true of any caliber, not just the 7 Rem mag.

Get a weighted "average" on the velocities and charge weights.Start low and work up,with a chronograph.Generally the faster you are going, the more pressure you are generating with a given powder....another powder may generate the same velocities with acceptable pressures ,ie be better suited to the combination you are using than another.

Without a chronograph you are working in the dark.