24hourcampfire.com
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
I appreciated a post that launched another thread (I am just a simple gun owner):
Originally Posted by andrews1958
I am just a simple gun owner who loves guns. I am not into violent video games or movies.

I am not particularly interested in military types of rifles but like everything else people have different tastes and with guns this is no different.

Being an engineer I really appreciate the mechanics of a rifle and being an art lover also nothing is prettier that a gun with a beautiful wood stock, checkering and engraving.

With my travels around the world due to my work I have been in some real scary situations where I felt safe knowing my guards and drivers had me well protected with the arms they had on them.

I guess what I would like to say is thanks to all of the members on 24hr that have the same interests as I do and that we all need to stick together and do not feel ashamed of our hobby. Thanks guys.

It got me to thinking. Let's list as many reasons as we can about why we like guns.

andrews1958 hit on three of them right off.

Steve.

"I was a deerhunter long before I was a man." ~Gene Wensel's Come November (2000)
"A vote is like a rifle; its usefulness depends upon the character of the user." ~Theodore Roosevelt
BP-B2

A
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
A
One more reason I like guns is because it's such a challenge to shoot them accurately, especially handguns.

and what does the Lord require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God? (Micah 6:8)

d.v.

Musings on TDS
H
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
H
Guns "talk" to us, especially older ones. Like old hand tools,
they feel like nothing else. Even newer guns just have a feeling like they belong in your hands. There's nothing else quite like them, except really good flyrods or a baseball glove you've used
a long time.

B
Campfire 'Bwana