Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
V
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
V
Travelled south yesterday for 160 miles to the Idaho Falls, Idaho Gunshow.
No guns for me and no ammo but I picked up several other neat items.
It was an OK show in my estimation.
The one thing I want to review for you'all is the Weaver CKT-15 Micro-Trac fixed power scope that I bought there.
This straight 15 power Weaver scope is relatively compact and light in weight, but it is big on performance afield and at the range. It is also a very good looking scope.
I had 3 more of these scopes already (two on centerfires and one on a rimfire) and I have been using them afield and at the range for more than 10 years now.
I have bought all four of the Weaver CKT-15's on the used market.
I got out the door yesterday with this nifty and mint condition scope for $95.00!
The table holder/seller was originally asking $145.00 for it and that would not have been to bad a buy but I whittled him down to $100.00 even, and I had just found a folded up five dollar bill out in the snow of the Shilo Inn's parking lot there in Idaho Falls.
If I recall correctly I have paid around $125.00 to $145.00 for the other CKT-15's I have bought in the past.
Things I like about these CKT-15's are:
They have relatively wide fields of view - I can't quote the exact feet and inches at 100 yards but I have no troubles aligning my Rifles on Varmints with them - in fact its easy to do so.
The Du-Plex type reticle is fine enough in the intersection that I can pick a spot on a particular Varmint and aim for it. Also the reticles thick section is close enough to the actual crosshairs intersection that I can use the top of the thick part of the Du-Plex as another aim point or hold over reference.