Views on this caliber for a short range shot? Winchester Trapper

Some cause happiness wherever they go; others whenever they go

Oscar Wilde~~
GB1

L
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
L
If you want to limit yourself for the right time and the right shot at the right range....go for it.

Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
Any personal experiences with it?

Oscar Wilde~~
L
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
L
That's a big NO! I'm an out-of-state hunter and in the three trips with limited time,when my shots came one was at 175 yds. for a 5x4, another at 100 yds. for a cow, and the last was at 150 yds. for a 5x5.

I'm not a bow hunter, nor will I place limits on myself waiting for the perfect shot setup but if I had the time and was confident in the hunting location that the elk would be within close range, yes, I would try to use a revolver for myself or you with a limited range carbine.

H
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
H
I have no direct elk killing experience with my 44mag carbine, but I have carried it and will again this year when I'm hunting timber. I don't know exactly what your range limitation is, but I'd be just fine with a 150 yd shot on elk. In my experience on some deer, a fast-handling levergun in 44mag is perfect for this kind of hunting: fast handling/firing, flat trajectory not necessary.

Big bullets out of big calibers don't use the same kind of minimum ft/lbs & velocity for effectiveness at killing game. Expanding or wide flat nose bullets make big holes, and don't rely on speed. I don't think a 300gr slug is required, but you're sure to get an exit on elk with one, unless you shoot 'em in the ass. I'll be using 300gr this year in my Marlin.

I belong on eroding granite, among the pines.
IC B2

S
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
S
Not the 300, but I have successfully used a Speer 240 gr Semi Jacketed bullet with success for elk. If you appreciate your distance limitations as with any other chambering of this realm, it will work fine.