Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
H
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
H
It's too bad. The regulations, in an attempt to promote safety or fair chase or something seem to have some backwards guidelines. What also works is allowing people to make their own decisions and holding them accountable. Wait, that is the only thing that works.

Sorry you're between a rock and a hard place with the regs. I take it you asked about the Contender rather than the Encore because you have a Contender? Is the Encore not chambered in 460?

I belong on eroding granite, among the pines.
GB1

S
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
S
No experience with the 45-70, but I have a lot of experience with the .44 Magnum. I've hunted many years with a Super Redhawk.

This year will be my first hunting for deer and bear with a T/C Contender. I'll be using a scoped, 14" T/C chambered in 7-30 Waters . My hunting load prints under 1" at 100 yards.

If you are getting the G2, I'd get something other than the 45-70. That cartridge can be a beast to shoot!

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
George,
I have an TC Encore with the 14" barrel 45/70. I also had an Encore 460S&W with ported barrel.
My intention was to hunt with the 460 but the recoil was so bad that after 3-5 shots my hand hurt so bad I couldn't shoot it anymore. It wasn't long and that one went down the road.
The 45/70 is on the G2 Frame with composite grip and forearm. I also have a Bushnell Elite 2-6x scope mounted on it.
I handload using 300gr LSWC. This load will give me 2-3" groups at 100 yards using sand bag rest. I would feel confident using it deer hunting but I wouldn't want to take a shot much past 125 yards.
I like the Encore because of the composite grip which helps deaden the recoil and it is heavier than the Contender. Don't get me wrong, when you touch it off you know it. There is something about the trigger guards on the TC pistols that seem to come back and bite your knuckles