24hourcampfire.com
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Regular
OP Online Content
Campfire Regular
So here's the deal - I took my 2014 bull elk to a guy that does European mounts out of his garage (can't really call him a taxidermist). I picked it up last Sunday, and when I get it in the house I realize that it still stinks. I call the guy and ask what I need to do in order to get rid of the odor... He says that it's normal and it will subside after a while. Now, I'm no taxidermy expert, but I don't think completed mounts should smell at all. Anyway, I'm looking for any advise from y'all about what measures I can take to rid this thing of the stank. The mount is "done", so I don't know how that plays into it... Please help; the wife is starting to hound me.

BP-B2

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Spray it with some Clorox. or brush it on if it's mounted on a plaque and can't easily be removed

Don't get it on the antlers

One shot, one kill........ It saves a lot of ammo!
Campfire 'Bwana
Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
Tie it to the roof of your garage for a couple days, maybe a week. Or soak it in some chemical.

I have boiled a few heads and never really noticed any smell.
(yeah right)

Always soaked the cleaned skulls in a peroxide(bleaching) solution. That will remove any odor, just don't get that chit on the actual antler/horn, or anything you don't want to turn white.

Last edited by SamOlson; 09/24/14.
M
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
Originally Posted by Snyper
Spray it with some Clorox. or brush it on if it's mounted on a plaque and can't easily be removed

Don't get it on the antlers

Dont use chlorox on a skull. It will make it turn yellow.
Use peroxide if you use anything. I would put in garage if you have one for a week or so to let it air out.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Congrats on your elk. Let it air out.

Let the truth be known - you were nagging the guy about your skulll and he let it out early.