Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by luv2safari
Originally Posted by 12344mag
[quote=bruinruin]

The hydrostat trans is a big + in my book.

YES! cool
+2 Hydro is awesome especially when doing loader work. Just a few things to share with you. You will need a lot more ballast behind the axle to safely do loader work. Also remember a tractor has no front brakes, so if you are carrying a load down an incline make sure it's in 4wd. If the rear tires come off the ground it's a ride from hell.

[Linked Image]

GB1

Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
Lots of good input here and it's much appreciated. As always, when I make a post looking for help/advice, I read and appreciate all constructive responses, so thanks to all who offered input.

I've been badgering my wife about my "need" for a tractor since about 2005 - shortly after we put in our house. I can see all sorts of projects and improvements that I can work on. High among them is rough grading and finishing off what we call our yard. I can see better shooting range backstops, graded walking/cross country ski paths through the woods and mostly, a big smile on my face where there used to be worry lines when a big snow was forecast.

Sounds kind of silly, but this kind of a small dream come true.

4 out of 5 Great Lakes prefer Michigan. smile
R
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
R
Sounds like you made a very good decision.. One tip (which you're most likely aware of anyway) ensure you have a source of #1 diesel when December 1st rolls around - especially if this tractor will be stored in an unheated shed.. In parts of the country like WI, MN, MI etc and temps can reach -20 pretty easily you won't be movin' any snow when your fuel is gelled..

Oh, and does this tractor have an engine heater of some kind? If so, use it when needed.. The starter and engine will appreciate it...

smile smile

Ex- USN (SS) '66-'69
Pro-Constitution.
LET'S GO BRANDON!!!
O