Home
Winchester 70-24" Med weight bbl.

I am new to this caliber. I can tell you 150gr Barnes TTSX with 66gr of IMR-4350 does not group well!

Does anyone have a good baseline load with 165gr Interlock or 180gr Nosler BT?

Yep, this is pretty base line for my rifles (Winchester model 70's):

64-66 gr H4350
165 Hornady btsp
CCI 250
.020" off the lands
Brass of your choice: I've used Federal, WW, and R-P
There is a lot of variation in 300 WSM.Some rifles seem to have a little more freebore than others.The one I have doesn't have much if any.Most book loads are too hot for mine,but I'm getting higher velocities at a lower charges.I've alway loaded 165gr bullets in mine and always started low and worked my way up.With 165gr bullets the loads that were near max and gave me the best groups were:
64.5grs Win. 760 (3125fps)
65.0grs IMR 4350 (3015fps)
69.0grs Reloader-22 (3030fps)
64.0grs of Reloader 17 (3150fps)
67.0grs of Ramshot Hunter (3080fps)
Originally Posted by bsa1917hunter
Yep, this is pretty base line for my rifles (Winchester model 70's):

64-66 gr H4350
165 Hornady btsp
CCI 250
.020" off the lands
Brass of your choice: I've used Federal, WW, and R-P

I use same-same - except only WW brass. WLRM primers under my 180's - it likes them better for some reason. If it won't shoot with 4350, it ain't gonna shoot......................
I agree bwinters, mine likes IMR4350 and H4350 with a myriad of bullets in the 165 to 180 gr. range...It's not picky at all...
Am I the only one who likes RL22 with 165's? frown
Prolly, you know how those weird 270 shooters are...A lot of guys like that chit for their 7mm mags too, but I found it works better as fertilizer on the wifes tomato plants whistle
Mine likes 66 gr H4350 with 165's.

Tomorrow I'll find out what it likes with 150's.