Home
Posted By: dennisinaz Recommend me a shotgun - 01/25/23
I'm looking for a 20 ga to mostly hunt mearns quail.
Looking for walnut, under 7 lbs, contenders would be a Wingmaster, Orion various double barrels. Let's say budget is $1000. Are Wingmasters even being made anymore. In searching i only see " sold out".
I would say a Benelli Montefeltro 20. I’v used that gun succesfully on bob white and black throated quail in Mexico.
Posted By: Winnie70 Re: Recommend me a shotgun - 01/25/23
The Remington 20 ga Fieldmaster just as well made as the Wingmaster….I have a Wingmaster to compare it to and believe me, I would take the Fieldmaster. I use mine for turkey hunting…26” and 6.7# dream to carry. Beautiful satin walnut no shine steel like the Wingmaster. Same twin action bars as Wingmaster and just as smooth. Here’s the kicker….out the door for $499 if you can find…LGS can’t keep them in stock. There is a Video comparing the two…you need to see it…probably on You tube. I have taken it apart and compared the parts and they are made just like the Wingmaster. Bought the spring to reduce trigger pull to 3.1 # just like Wingmaster….from Mcarbo for like $15 I believe.
Posted By: 10Glocks Re: Recommend me a shotgun - 01/25/23
Wingmasters are being made again. But they sell out quickly, and I don't know if they are making them in 20 gauge yet.

As Winnie says, the Fieldmaster IS being made in 20 gauge. It's a matte finished Wingmaster, essentially, and is far nicer than the older Remington Express. I've handled them and they are very slick, well finished shotguns.

I think this is the video Winnie is referring to

By the way, tte Target Focused Life youtube channel is great. Tons of really good shotgun reviews.

You may also want to look into the Franchi Affinity 3. It get every good reviews across the board.

https://www.franchiusa.com/semi-auto-shotguns/affinity-3

https://ammoandarmsstore.com/41075/