Home
I need help please.

I am very interested in moose hunting in Montana, but have multiple questions, including any outfitters that you would recommend, non-resident drawing odds, difficulty of the hunt once tag is won, etc. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Please point me in the right direction.

thanks Coop
The odds of drawing are real long, even for residents. I am a life-long resident of Montana and haven't drawn in 30+ years of every-year applying. (My wife, however, has drawn 2 moose tags in 21 years of applying, including one on her very first try. Her second tag, drawn this year, was for a cow, however.)

There are also going to be fewer moose tags allowed, because of a drop in moose numbers in the state. The biologists claim this is a mystery, but in many areas it's due to wolves.

If you really want to hunt a moose I would look at Canada.
Wow, I had no idea.

33 years of applying with no tag here, and I even applied for cow tags with better odds, and accumulated their so-called "Bonus Points"...

Finally gave up on it.....that plus, as JB said moose in the areas I would normally put in for have been decimated by wolves, no other word for it...

Ingwe
Yeah, my buddy Milo got a cow moose tag maybe 6-8 years ago, for any area east of Missoula. Even then there were enough wolves that he saw more wolves than moose, and it took 17 days of hunting to get his cow.

As I wrote in my previous post, if you are planning to use an outfitter anyway I'd look at Canada. (Alaska is REALLY expensive.) I've hunted in both British Columbia and Alberta and there are still some reasonably priced moose hunts in both provinces.
I've been fortunate enough to shoot 3 moose ( 1 bull, 2 cows) in the last 6 years (and would have had a fourth tag had I not FUBAR'd this year's ID app)

Utah has lots of moose , no wolves, and CWMU tags for purchase.