Home
Posted By: RiesigJay Camouflage: Overrated? - 07/12/13
I'm new to hunting and I've been reading around a bit. Right now I'm studying rifle cartridges/ballistics, but I take breaks by "window-shopping" for hunting gear. Camouflage appeals to me, especially the Kryptek and the Sitka line of camo.

But I pause when I see the prices involved, and wonder is it really needed?

I peruse vintage hunting photos and see that many hunters were plenty effective wearing plad shirts and earth-toned slacks. Case in point:
[Linked Image]

A more current example would be Laramy "Sasquatch" Miller who wanders around hunting Elk with a recurve bow in buckskins.

So to wrap this up: does camouflage enhance the effectiveness of bagging an animal? Or was it just some stroke of marketing genius that duped us into believing we needed camo for a hunt?
Posted By: Rancho_Loco Re: Camouflage: Overrated? - 07/12/13
Carhartt camo here..
Posted By: Seafire Re: Camouflage: Overrated? - 07/12/13
Animals are color blind, they notice movement the most.. but few people can hold perfectly still unless taught to do so in the military, and how to camo themselves...

Camo clothers and rifles are sort of useless, no matter how cool they can look...

during WW2, all pilots who flew observation planes or had observers to do that job, were all color blind.. they were chosen for that job, because what was hidden to folks with normal color vision, was not optically hidden for folks who were color blind....

so to keep yourself hidden from game, you need to be able to hide yourself, behind something or within something where you can see out well, and the animals can't see in very well...
doesn't matter if you dress like Elmer Fudd or John Rambo...

mask your smell, your movements and your outline...