Home
https://www.autoblog.com/2020/09/16/freight-train-hits-low-bridge-memphis-video/

The incident caused $2 million in damages

Bridge looks ok though.
Walmart greeter...... " I used to be an engineer"
oddly satisfying to watch.
I don’t know how railroad planning works for each load but it seems that there should have been a point in the process of loading that train that kept it off that line and away from that bridge. Who would be responsible for that?
As a bridge engineer I'm always amazed at how tough these steel bridges are after an impact. I've seen tops of modular homes obliterated with narely a scratch on the bridge girder. Even had a drill rig shear the head off the rig one time that barely bent the bottom flange of the girder. They have interior lateral diaphragms between the girders that help against lateral forces like this, but it is still amazing to see how strong they are.

They are not indestructible though as we have had to hire contractors to come in a heat/straighten girders from impact in the past. You don't want to be on the receiving end of that bill!
one engineer to another.... hey, do you hear something weird sounding?
That wax that the guy uses on the cars in the junkyard on tv should buff that right out.
The person responsible is nowhere to be found.
Was Biden the engineer?
That is unbelievable. Somebody screwed up.

By the way I had a bad time on a freight train in Memphis. We were riding through on a freight train on the way to Denver. Got spotted by the Memphis yard cops and got taken to the Memphis city jail. The cops told us if they caught us again, they would stop the train on the high bridge over the Mississippi, and they would throw us into the river. That was kind of scary but they were just kidding.
I think.
That’s awesome! Can they do it again!!