Home
Posted By: RockyRaab Boy vs Girl babies - 02/23/21
I didn't want to hijack the meme thread with this discussion, so I started this one.

The topic is about how or what decides the gender of babies. We all agree that it comes down to the X or Y type of sperm that make it through to the egg, I think. Some argue that it is timing that determines which one wins the race. Others opine that position during sex is the difference.

I offer no firm theory, but can relate an anecdote. When I was an instructor pilot, there were two squadrons of IPs totalling perhaps 100 virile young men in their prime breeding years. We jet jocks made lots of babies in the almost five years I flew there. But in that entire time, every baby but two were girls. That is far and away out of the statistical probability box.

What the flight surgeon told us was that the combination of constant high-G maneuvers plus the increased radiation we got from being at high altitude every day had an adverse effect on our "boy" swimmers. It seems that our Y swimmers were weakened enough so that the girl X swimmers almost always won the egg race.

Dunno, but the girl/boy baby ratio among pilots of all kinds seem to be radically skewed to the girl side. Especially so among high-performance plane flyers who pull Gs. Take that for what it's worth.

Me? Two girls.
Posted By: Gooch_McGrundle Re: Boy vs Girl babies - 02/23/21
Y sperm are faster, but are less robust. My doctor told me that male conceptions outnumber female conceptions by a fair amount, but are less likely to remain viable through birth. Any environmental factors that would reduce your sperm count or motility would have the greatest effect on the Y sperm. This includes temperature, nutrition, and quite possibly flight conditions. My dad was also a pilot and he had 3 girls before me.
Ask yourself why men have nipples and then you shall be enlightened.
Posted By: Bob_H_in_NH Re: Boy vs Girl babies - 02/23/21